Posted by: shanty | July 28, 2007

Can’t stop what is on it’s way…

So of you may or may not know that I used to be a crazed Tori Amos fan. Like the ones who would stand outside of a venue all day to see her at a “meet and greet” before one of her shows. I’ve seen her in concert approximately a gazillion times since my first show at the Lyric Opera House in Baltimore on her Boys for Pele Tour in 1996. Wow, over ten years ago… Crazy…

Anyway, this fall she’s going on tour again, and while I was glad to be able to see her again, I had my doubts. I’m definitely not a big fan of her newest album American Doll Posse, and just the thought of standing in line and having to listen to crazy Tori fans bitch about how they “know her” gives me indigestion.

So I was planning to go to the DC show (’cause there ain’t no Baltimore show, which kinda upset me too) and enjoy it among the screaming teens who insist on singing along to her songs (another thing that pisses me off) and that would be that. Then there was an announcement about “VIP Tickets.” These include a seat in the first ten rows, a private meet and greet with Tori before the show, and access to a portion of her sound check. So Robbie and I decided to try and get these tickets, not really expecting to get them. Then the website that was selling the tickets crashed before I could pay for the tickets. So I figured it wasn’t going to happen and we’d get shitty seats after trying to get these VIP tickets all fucking day. Turns out the website was able to capture some of the information from the people trying to checkout and we did indeed get our VIP tickets.

So now I’m all giddy over Tori again. Which is pretty awesome. It’s bringing back lots of memories, both good and bad, surrounding her music and what it means to me.

I’ve included below a video of one of my most favorite Tori songs called Bells for Her from her 1994 album Under the Pink. This song has a lot of meaning to me for a lot of reasons, and the most interesting this about this video is the piano and the fact that she sings a verse that appears on the record, but rarely live. The original recording of this song was done on a “prepared upright piano” that had been purposely deconstructed to sound like bells instead of a piano. I don’ think I’ve ever seen her perform the third verse that starts as “bells and footfalls and soldiers and dolls.”

Here’s a quote from Tori in the Baltimore Sun in 1994 explaining the meaning of the song: “…the main thing about Bells for Her is that there is no resolve, and that’s what that whole song was saying. ‘Can’t stop what’s coming, can’t stop what is on its way.’ All I can do is respond truthfully, and the concept that we’ll always be friends, or we can always work it out, I would have bet you that I could have worked anything out with this person. I would have bet my hand I could have worked anything out. I’d be missing a hand right now. It’d be the one-armed Tori tour. I couldn’t have foreseen this. And I think, how many people, in marriages or families, and they’re going, ‘Wait a minute. I’m a rational being. This is a rational being, so we think.’ Of course, I’m a little — I’m partial, but I would have thought, yes, we could work it out. And when it got to in the end ‘blankettes,’ and the spelling changed, and when I was writing it down, I did it ‘blankettes’ as in — well, what it means to me is just blank women, chicks. Yet they were making mudpies and creating and it’s void now. And if you talk to people that know her, they think she’s a together, great babe. And if you talk to people that know me, I’m a together, great babe. And yet we just couldn’t do it. So there is a triangle on this record of the betrayal of women. It’s not just that relationship. It’s many other things in the other tunes. But Bells is the spirit speaking, not the ego speaking, but the part of me that still loves a friend that for whatever reason you can’t make a resolve. You just can’t do it. The big lesson in this whole year has been that there isn’t a resolve for many things. Life isn’t about, well, if I just get to this mountain peak, it’s over. There are like 5,000 peaks in the distance.”

Tori and her best friend Nancy (referred to as Beane in many songs) apparently had a falling out over the way Beane was being treated by her boyfriend. Eventually they resolved their issues and became friends again and I think that is why Tori doesn’t sing that verse live anymore.

So, long story short (too late Tony), I’m on a old school Tori kick the past few days.

So without further adieu, here’s the video. I hope y’all enjoy and have a great weekend!

Responses

  1. We have so much to talk about.

  2. I realized over the weekend that the first time I saw Tori was on the Pink tour and she had the Bells for Her Piano with her. It was rather amazing, though I think my favorite live version of it is from the Pele tour when she played it on the harpsichord.


Categories

