Posted by: shanty | June 12, 2007

Our deepest fear…

So I’ve decided to have a quote section on my blog. Why? ‘Cause I can, bitches! Also because, and Robbie can attest to the fact, I am a quote junkie. I have quotes written on scraps of paper in my purse, taped to my front door, and have notebooks filled with them. At any rate, I was going through my little quote book I keep here at work looking for something and this popped out at me. Not sure why I decided to make this crunchy, zen-esque quote my first entry (and I promise they won’t be all so hippy-fied), but I liked it.

Upon doing further research I found out that Marianne Williamson is a follower of the Course of Miracles which was “‘scribed’ by Dr. Helen Schucman through a process of inner dictation she identified as coming from Jesus.” So a little… wacky… but you know, whatever gets you through the day I guess.  

I’m not sure where I got the quote from but when I was looking the author up I found the original quote (sans ellipses) and it talks about being children of God and blah, blah, blah. For those of you that know me (and really if you’re reading this blog you obviously do), you know I am far from a religious person. Or at least far from a “traditional” religious person. So don’t read too much into it.  

And with that I give you my first Quotetastic! entry! Oh yeah! 

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? …Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine as children do… It’s not just in some of us, it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” 

Marianne Williamson, “Our Deepest Fear”

Responses

  1. I love this quote. It’s actually used in the very beginning of Godspell the Tower of Babel sequence.

    And I also collect quotes…

  2. i have a feeling your quotes are going to be so much beter than mine…

    ;c)

  3. Phillip So do I. Obviously. I don’t think I’ve ever seen Godspell. Thanks for stopping by!

    Babe They’re just different. Not better. 🙂 xox


Categories

